I received an email invitation to attend a “silent yoga/mediation retreat” in October; something I’ve always wanted to try.  The cost is an affordable $30 for one day, $130 to stay overnight and attend two days.  Yoga and meditation are offered for those who choose to participate; nature trails and beautiful scenery are there to enjoy if that’s all you want or need.

Appealing as the initial invitation was, after pondering whether to dedicate an entire weekend to silence, I decided to pass.

The reasons are many:

Fear:  the facilitator might have an alternative agenda.  Sometimes (a lot of the time) I find yoga and meditation instructors to be desensitized to their audience, and the practice becomes about them and their own issues.  Annoying.  I’ve practiced long enough to know what I like and need in a yoga class and who better to guide me than me?  I know where to find inspiration when I need it.

Monotony: As a consultant, I live 100 miles from my home during the work week and spend weekday evenings alone, mostly at the gym or dining by myself.  That’s a lot of silence already.

Just another attempt to “fix” my discontent:  The answers are already inside of me, and I know how to tap them.

Heightened discernment:  I no longer say “yes” to everything that appears to be interesting.  I can prioritize my life and activities effectively.

I know how to say no:  I recently read an article, true or not, about Warren Buffet and how he keeps his life simple and his calendar clear.  He says no.  And so can I.

The lessons I learned in the week following the receipt of the invitation have been empowering for me.  I can decide, I can listen to my heart and make the right choice for myself. 

I told David that I would stay home with him and let him annoy me instead. He said he would be happy to oblige.

 

 

Silence

Leave a Reply

